[RESEND,v16,0/5] DMA-BUF Heaps (destaging ION)

Message ID 20191203172641.66642-1-john.stultz@linaro.org
Headers show
Series
  • DMA-BUF Heaps (destaging ION)
Related show

Message

John Stultz Dec. 3, 2019, 5:26 p.m.
Just wanted to resend v16.

This patchset implements per-heap devices which can be opened
directly and then an ioctl is used to allocate a dmabuf from the
heap.

The interface is similar, but much simpler then IONs, only
providing an ALLOC ioctl.

Also, I've provided relatively simple system and cma heaps.

I've booted and tested these patches with AOSP on the HiKey960
using the kernel tree here:
  https://git.linaro.org/people/john.stultz/android-dev.git/log/?h=dev/dma-buf-heap

And the reviewed (+2'ed) userspace changes here:
  https://android-review.googlesource.com/c/device/linaro/hikey/+/909436

Compared to ION, this patchset is missing the system-contig,
carveout and chunk heaps, as I don't have a device that uses
those, so I'm unable to do much useful validation there.
Additionally we have no upstream users of chunk or carveout,
and the system-contig has been deprecated in the common/andoid-*
kernels, so this should be ok.

I've also removed the stats accounting, since any such
accounting should be implemented by dma-buf core or the heaps
themselves.

New in v16:
* Typo fix suggested by Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>
* Add extra error and ioctl compatibility testing suggested by
  Daniel Vetter to the kselftest test

Thanks again for all the reviews and feedback!
-john

Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Benjamin Gaignard <benjamin.gaignard@linaro.org>
Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Mark <lmark@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Pratik Patel <pratikp@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Brian Starkey <Brian.Starkey@arm.com>
Cc: Vincent Donnefort <Vincent.Donnefort@arm.com>
Cc: Sudipto Paul <Sudipto.Paul@arm.com>
Cc: Andrew F. Davis <afd@ti.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Chenbo Feng <fengc@google.com>
Cc: Alistair Strachan <astrachan@google.com>
Cc: Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>
Cc: Sandeep Patil <sspatil@google.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hdanton@sina.com>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@gmail.com>
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org

Andrew F. Davis (1):
  dma-buf: Add dma-buf heaps framework

John Stultz (4):
  dma-buf: heaps: Add heap helpers
  dma-buf: heaps: Add system heap to dmabuf heaps
  dma-buf: heaps: Add CMA heap to dmabuf heaps
  kselftests: Add dma-heap test

 MAINTAINERS                                   |  18 +
 drivers/dma-buf/Kconfig                       |  11 +
 drivers/dma-buf/Makefile                      |   2 +
 drivers/dma-buf/dma-heap.c                    | 297 +++++++++++++
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig                 |  14 +
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Makefile                |   4 +
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/cma_heap.c              | 177 ++++++++
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.c          | 271 ++++++++++++
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.h          |  53 +++
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c           | 123 ++++++
 include/linux/dma-heap.h                      |  59 +++
 include/uapi/linux/dma-heap.h                 |  53 +++
 tools/testing/selftests/dmabuf-heaps/Makefile |   6 +
 .../selftests/dmabuf-heaps/dmabuf-heap.c      | 396 ++++++++++++++++++
 14 files changed, 1484 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/dma-heap.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Makefile
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/cma_heap.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.c
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/heap-helpers.h
 create mode 100644 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
 create mode 100644 include/linux/dma-heap.h
 create mode 100644 include/uapi/linux/dma-heap.h
 create mode 100644 tools/testing/selftests/dmabuf-heaps/Makefile
 create mode 100644 tools/testing/selftests/dmabuf-heaps/dmabuf-heap.c

-- 
2.17.1