[00/12] crypto: permit asynchronous skciphers as driver fallbacks

Message ID 20200625124253.1906557-1-ardb@kernel.org
Headers show
Series
  • crypto: permit asynchronous skciphers as driver fallbacks
Related show

Message

Ard Biesheuvel June 25, 2020, 12:42 p.m.
The drivers for crypto accelerators in drivers/crypto all implement skciphers
of an asynchronous nature, given that they are backed by hardware DMA that
completes asynchronously wrt the execution flow.

However, in many cases, any fallbacks they allocate are limited to the
synchronous variety, which rules out the use of SIMD implementations of
AES in ECB, CBC and XTS modes, given that they are usually built on top
of the asynchronous SIMD helper, which queues requests for asynchronous
completion if they are issued from a context that does not permit the use
of the SIMD register file.

This may result in sub-optimal AES implementations to be selected as
fallbacks, or even less secure ones if the only synchronous alternative
is table based, and therefore not time invariant.

So switch all these cases over to the asynchronous API, by moving the
subrequest into the skcipher request context, and permitting it to
complete asynchronously via the caller provided completion function.

Patch #1 is not related, but touches the same driver as #2 so it is
included anyway.

Only OMAP was tested on actual hardware - the others are build tested only.

Cc: Corentin Labbe <clabbe.montjoie@gmail.com>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>
Cc: Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Ayush Sawal <ayush.sawal@chelsio.com>
Cc: Vinay Kumar Yadav <vinay.yadav@chelsio.com>
Cc: Rohit Maheshwari <rohitm@chelsio.com>
Cc: Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>
Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>
Cc: NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>
Cc: Jamie Iles <jamie@jamieiles.com>
Cc: Eric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>

Ard Biesheuvel (12):
  crypto: amlogic-gxl - default to build as module
  crypto: amlogic-gxl - permit async skcipher as fallback
  crypto: omap-aes - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: sun4i - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: sun8i-ce - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: sun8i-ss - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: ccp - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: chelsio - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: mxs-dcp - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: picoxcell - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: qce - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback
  crypto: sahara - permit asynchronous skcipher as fallback

 drivers/crypto/allwinner/sun4i-ss/sun4i-ss-cipher.c | 46 +++++-----
 drivers/crypto/allwinner/sun4i-ss/sun4i-ss.h        |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/allwinner/sun8i-ce/sun8i-ce-cipher.c | 41 ++++-----
 drivers/crypto/allwinner/sun8i-ce/sun8i-ce.h        |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/allwinner/sun8i-ss/sun8i-ss-cipher.c | 39 ++++----
 drivers/crypto/allwinner/sun8i-ss/sun8i-ss.h        |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/amlogic/Kconfig                      |  2 +-
 drivers/crypto/amlogic/amlogic-gxl-cipher.c         | 27 +++---
 drivers/crypto/amlogic/amlogic-gxl.h                |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/ccp/ccp-crypto-aes-xts.c             | 31 +++----
 drivers/crypto/ccp/ccp-crypto.h                     |  4 +-
 drivers/crypto/chelsio/chcr_algo.c                  | 57 +++++-------
 drivers/crypto/chelsio/chcr_crypto.h                |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/mxs-dcp.c                            | 33 +++----
 drivers/crypto/omap-aes.c                           | 35 ++++---
 drivers/crypto/omap-aes.h                           |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/picoxcell_crypto.c                   | 34 ++++---
 drivers/crypto/qce/cipher.h                         |  3 +-
 drivers/crypto/qce/skcipher.c                       | 27 +++---
 drivers/crypto/sahara.c                             | 96 +++++++++-----------
 20 files changed, 244 insertions(+), 249 deletions(-)