[38/52] arm64: KVM: Report SMCCC_ARCH_WORKAROUND_1 BP hardening support

Message ID 1519633227-29832-39-git-send-email-alex.shi@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [01/52] mm: Introduce lm_alias
Related show

Commit Message

Alex Shi Feb. 26, 2018, 8:20 a.m.
From: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>


commit 6167ec5c9145 upstream.

A new feature of SMCCC 1.1 is that it offers firmware-based CPU
workarounds. In particular, SMCCC_ARCH_WORKAROUND_1 provides
BP hardening for CVE-2017-5715.

If the host has some mitigation for this issue, report that
we deal with it using SMCCC_ARCH_WORKAROUND_1, as we apply the
host workaround on every guest exit.

Tested-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

Reviewed-by: Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@linaro.org>

Signed-off-by: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>


Conflicts:
	no sve support in arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_host.h
	mv changes from virt/kvm/arm/psci.c to arch/arm/kvm/psci.c
	using cpus_have_cap instead of cpus_have_const_cap
---
 arch/arm/include/asm/kvm_host.h   | 6 ++++++
 arch/arm/kvm/psci.c               | 9 ++++++++-
 arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_host.h | 6 ++++++
 include/linux/arm-smccc.h         | 5 +++++
 4 files changed, 25 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

-- 
2.7.4

Patch

diff --git a/arch/arm/include/asm/kvm_host.h b/arch/arm/include/asm/kvm_host.h
index d5423ab..9fe1043 100644
--- a/arch/arm/include/asm/kvm_host.h
+++ b/arch/arm/include/asm/kvm_host.h
@@ -318,4 +318,10 @@  static inline int kvm_arm_vcpu_arch_has_attr(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu,
 	return -ENXIO;
 }
 
+static inline bool kvm_arm_harden_branch_predictor(void)
+{
+	/* No way to detect it yet, pretend it is not there. */
+	return false;
+}
+
 #endif /* __ARM_KVM_HOST_H__ */
diff --git a/arch/arm/kvm/psci.c b/arch/arm/kvm/psci.c
index 396eb5d..a825638 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kvm/psci.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kvm/psci.c
@@ -404,13 +404,20 @@  int kvm_hvc_call_handler(struct kvm_vcpu *vcpu)
 {
 	u32 func_id = smccc_get_function(vcpu);
 	u32 val = PSCI_RET_NOT_SUPPORTED;
+	u32 feature;
 
 	switch (func_id) {
 	case ARM_SMCCC_VERSION_FUNC_ID:
 		val = ARM_SMCCC_VERSION_1_1;
 		break;
 	case ARM_SMCCC_ARCH_FEATURES_FUNC_ID:
-		/* Nothing supported yet */
+		feature = smccc_get_arg1(vcpu);
+		switch(feature) {
+		case ARM_SMCCC_ARCH_WORKAROUND_1:
+			if (kvm_arm_harden_branch_predictor())
+				val = 0;
+			break;
+		}
 		break;
 	default:
 		return kvm_psci_call(vcpu);
diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_host.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_host.h
index e505038..7f5244a 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_host.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_host.h
@@ -393,4 +393,10 @@  static inline void __cpu_init_stage2(void)
 		  "PARange is %d bits, unsupported configuration!", parange);
 }
 
+
+static inline bool kvm_arm_harden_branch_predictor(void)
+{
+	return cpus_have_cap(ARM64_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR);
+}
+
 #endif /* __ARM64_KVM_HOST_H__ */
diff --git a/include/linux/arm-smccc.h b/include/linux/arm-smccc.h
index dc68aa5..e1ef944 100644
--- a/include/linux/arm-smccc.h
+++ b/include/linux/arm-smccc.h
@@ -73,6 +73,11 @@ 
 			   ARM_SMCCC_SMC_32,				\
 			   0, 1)
 
+#define ARM_SMCCC_ARCH_WORKAROUND_1					\
+	ARM_SMCCC_CALL_VAL(ARM_SMCCC_FAST_CALL,				\
+			   ARM_SMCCC_SMC_32,				\
+			   0, 0x8000)
+
 #ifndef __ASSEMBLY__
 
 #include <linux/linkage.h>