[v4.9.y,12/42] arm64: Run enable method for errata work arounds on late CPUs

Message ID 20180412111138.40990-13-mark.rutland@arm.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • arm64 spectre patches
Related show

Commit Message

Mark Rutland April 12, 2018, 11:11 a.m.
From: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>


commit 55b35d070c2534dfb714b883f3c3ae05d02032da upstream.

When a CPU is brought up after we have finalised the system
wide capabilities (i.e, features and errata), we make sure the
new CPU doesn't need a new errata work around which has not been
detected already. However we don't run enable() method on the new
CPU for the errata work arounds already detected. This could
cause the new CPU running without potential work arounds.
It is upto the "enable()" method to decide if this CPU should
do something about the errata.

Fixes: commit 6a6efbb45b7d95c84 ("arm64: Verify CPU errata work arounds on hotplugged CPU")
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>
Cc: Dave Martin <dave.martin@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> [v4.9 backport]

---
 arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c | 9 ++++++---
 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

-- 
2.11.0

Patch

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
index b75e917aac46..b866df79bb83 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
@@ -143,15 +143,18 @@  void verify_local_cpu_errata_workarounds(void)
 {
 	const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities *caps = arm64_errata;
 
-	for (; caps->matches; caps++)
-		if (!cpus_have_cap(caps->capability) &&
-			caps->matches(caps, SCOPE_LOCAL_CPU)) {
+	for (; caps->matches; caps++) {
+		if (cpus_have_cap(caps->capability)) {
+			if (caps->enable)
+				caps->enable((void *)caps);
+		} else if (caps->matches(caps, SCOPE_LOCAL_CPU)) {
 			pr_crit("CPU%d: Requires work around for %s, not detected"
 					" at boot time\n",
 				smp_processor_id(),
 				caps->desc ? : "an erratum");
 			cpu_die_early();
 		}
+	}
 }
 
 void update_cpu_errata_workarounds(void)