[1/2] selftest: timers: Tweak raw_skew to SKIP when ADJ_OFFSET/other clock adjustments are in progress

Message ID 1531426641-20076-2-git-send-email-john.stultz@linaro.org
State Accepted
Commit 1416270f4a1ae83ea84156ceba19a66a8f88be1f
Headers show
Series
  • Few timekeeping items for 4.19
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz July 12, 2018, 8:17 p.m.
In the past we've warned when ADJ_OFFSET was in progress, usually
caused by ntpd or some other time adjusting daemon running in non
steady sate, which can cause the skew calculations to be
incorrect.

Thus, this patch checks to see if the clock was being adjusted
when we fail so that we don't cause false negatives.

Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Suggested-by: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

---
v2: Widened the checks to look for other clock adjustments that
    could happen, as suggested by Miroslav
v3: Fixed up commit message
---
 tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c | 5 +++++
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

-- 
2.7.4

Patch

diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c b/tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c
index ca6cd14..dcf73c5 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c
@@ -134,6 +134,11 @@  int main(int argv, char **argc)
 	printf(" %lld.%i(act)", ppm/1000, abs((int)(ppm%1000)));
 
 	if (llabs(eppm - ppm) > 1000) {
+		if (tx1.offset || tx2.offset ||
+		    tx1.freq != tx2.freq || tx1.tick != tx2.tick) {
+			printf("	[SKIP]\n");
+			return ksft_exit_skip("The clock was adjusted externally. Shutdown NTPd or other time sync daemons\n");
+		}
 		printf("	[FAILED]\n");
 		return ksft_exit_fail();
 	}