[04/27] perf cs-etm: Bail out immediately for instruction sample failure

Message ID 20180725180001.15108-5-acme@kernel.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #13512
Related show

Commit Message

Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo July 25, 2018, 5:59 p.m.
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>


If the instruction sample failure has happened, it isn't necessary to
execute to the end of the function cs_etm__flush().  This commit is to
bail out immediately and return the error code.

Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>

Reviewed-by: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>

Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@arm.com>
Cc: Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Robert Walker <robert.walker@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1529298599-3876-3-git-send-email-leo.yan@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

---
 tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c | 3 +++
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

-- 
2.14.4

Patch

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
index 822ba915d144..8b2c099e750a 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
@@ -939,6 +939,9 @@  static int cs_etm__flush(struct cs_etm_queue *etmq)
 		err = cs_etm__synth_instruction_sample(
 			etmq, addr,
 			etmq->period_instructions);
+		if (err)
+			return err;
+
 		etmq->period_instructions = 0;
 
 		/*