[4.14,1/2] arm64/kvm: consistently handle host HCR_EL2 flags

Message ID 20190118175633.6464-1-kristina.martsenko@arm.com
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [4.14,1/2] arm64/kvm: consistently handle host HCR_EL2 flags
Related show

Commit Message

Kristina Martsenko Jan. 18, 2019, 5:56 p.m.
From: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>


[ Backport of upstream commit 4eaed6aa2c628101246bcabc91b203bfac1193f8 ]

In KVM we define the configuration of HCR_EL2 for a VHE HOST in
HCR_HOST_VHE_FLAGS, but we don't have a similar definition for the
non-VHE host flags, and open-code HCR_RW. Further, in head.S we
open-code the flags for VHE and non-VHE configurations.

In future, we're going to want to configure more flags for the host, so
lets add a HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS defintion, and consistently use both
HCR_HOST_VHE_FLAGS and HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS in the kvm code and head.S.

We now use mov_q to generate the HCR_EL2 value, as we use when
configuring other registers in head.S.

Reviewed-by: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Richard Henderson <richard.henderson@linaro.org>

Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@arm.com>

Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

[kristina: backport to 4.14.y: adjust context]
Signed-off-by: Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>

---
 arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h | 1 +
 arch/arm64/kernel/head.S         | 5 ++---
 arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/switch.c      | 2 +-
 3 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

-- 
2.11.0

Patch

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h
index 73cc4309fe01..9b25a1e2d583 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/kvm_arm.h
@@ -82,6 +82,7 @@ 
 			 HCR_AMO | HCR_SWIO | HCR_TIDCP | HCR_RW)
 #define HCR_VIRT_EXCP_MASK (HCR_VSE | HCR_VI | HCR_VF)
 #define HCR_INT_OVERRIDE   (HCR_FMO | HCR_IMO)
+#define HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS (HCR_RW)
 #define HCR_HOST_VHE_FLAGS (HCR_RW | HCR_TGE | HCR_E2H)
 
 /* TCR_EL2 Registers bits */
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/head.S b/arch/arm64/kernel/head.S
index 261f3f88364c..ec393275ba04 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/head.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/head.S
@@ -414,10 +414,9 @@  CPU_LE(	bic	x0, x0, #(1 << 25)	)	// Clear the EE bit for EL2
 #endif
 
 	/* Hyp configuration. */
-	mov	x0, #HCR_RW			// 64-bit EL1
+	mov_q	x0, HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS
 	cbz	x2, set_hcr
-	orr	x0, x0, #HCR_TGE		// Enable Host Extensions
-	orr	x0, x0, #HCR_E2H
+	mov_q	x0, HCR_HOST_VHE_FLAGS
 set_hcr:
 	msr	hcr_el2, x0
 	isb
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/switch.c b/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/switch.c
index b2f1992c6234..44845996b554 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/switch.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kvm/hyp/switch.c
@@ -127,7 +127,7 @@  static void __hyp_text __deactivate_traps_nvhe(void)
 	mdcr_el2 |= MDCR_EL2_E2PB_MASK << MDCR_EL2_E2PB_SHIFT;
 
 	write_sysreg(mdcr_el2, mdcr_el2);
-	write_sysreg(HCR_RW, hcr_el2);
+	write_sysreg(HCR_HOST_NVHE_FLAGS, hcr_el2);
 	write_sysreg(CPTR_EL2_DEFAULT, cptr_el2);
 }