[07/11] perf cs-etm: Don't check cs_etm_queue::prev_packet validity

Message ID 20190503002533.29359-8-acme@kernel.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #20151
Related show

Commit Message

Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo May 3, 2019, 12:25 a.m.
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>


Since cs_etm_queue::prev_packet is allocated for all cases, it will
never be NULL pointer; now validity checking prev_packet is pointless,
remove all of them.

Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>

Tested-by: Robert Walker <robert.walker@arm.com>

Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Mike Leach <mike.leach@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Suzuki K Poulouse <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190428083228.20246-2-leo.yan@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

---
 tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c | 6 +-----
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 5 deletions(-)

-- 
2.20.1

Patch

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
index 110804936fc3..7777cfc1ad8c 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
@@ -981,7 +981,6 @@  static int cs_etm__sample(struct cs_etm_queue *etmq)
 	 * PREV_PACKET is a branch.
 	 */
 	if (etm->synth_opts.last_branch &&
-	    etmq->prev_packet &&
 	    etmq->prev_packet->sample_type == CS_ETM_RANGE &&
 	    etmq->prev_packet->last_instr_taken_branch)
 		cs_etm__update_last_branch_rb(etmq);
@@ -1014,7 +1013,7 @@  static int cs_etm__sample(struct cs_etm_queue *etmq)
 		etmq->period_instructions = instrs_over;
 	}
 
-	if (etm->sample_branches && etmq->prev_packet) {
+	if (etm->sample_branches) {
 		bool generate_sample = false;
 
 		/* Generate sample for tracing on packet */
@@ -1071,9 +1070,6 @@  static int cs_etm__flush(struct cs_etm_queue *etmq)
 	struct cs_etm_auxtrace *etm = etmq->etm;
 	struct cs_etm_packet *tmp;
 
-	if (!etmq->prev_packet)
-		return 0;
-
 	/* Handle start tracing packet */
 	if (etmq->prev_packet->sample_type == CS_ETM_EMPTY)
 		goto swap_packet;