[40/85] perf cs-etm: Add handling of itrace start events

Message ID 20190611185911.11645-41-acme@kernel.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #21018
Related show

Commit Message

Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo June 11, 2019, 6:58 p.m.
From: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>


Add handling of ITRACE events in order to add the tid/pid of the
executing process to the perf tools machine infrastructure.  This
information is later retrieved when a contextID packet is found in the
trace stream.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>

Tested-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>

Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Suzuki Poulouse <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: coresight@lists.linaro.org
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190524173508.29044-5-mathieu.poirier@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

---
 tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c | 26 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 26 insertions(+)

-- 
2.20.1

Patch

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
index de488b43f440..0742c50fce46 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/cs-etm.c
@@ -1657,6 +1657,29 @@  static int cs_etm__process_timeless_queues(struct cs_etm_auxtrace *etm,
 	return 0;
 }
 
+static int cs_etm__process_itrace_start(struct cs_etm_auxtrace *etm,
+					union perf_event *event)
+{
+	struct thread *th;
+
+	if (etm->timeless_decoding)
+		return 0;
+
+	/*
+	 * Add the tid/pid to the log so that we can get a match when
+	 * we get a contextID from the decoder.
+	 */
+	th = machine__findnew_thread(etm->machine,
+				     event->itrace_start.pid,
+				     event->itrace_start.tid);
+	if (!th)
+		return -ENOMEM;
+
+	thread__put(th);
+
+	return 0;
+}
+
 static int cs_etm__process_event(struct perf_session *session,
 				 union perf_event *event,
 				 struct perf_sample *sample,
@@ -1694,6 +1717,9 @@  static int cs_etm__process_event(struct perf_session *session,
 		return cs_etm__process_timeless_queues(etm,
 						       event->fork.tid);
 
+	if (event->header.type == PERF_RECORD_ITRACE_START)
+		return cs_etm__process_itrace_start(etm, event);
+
 	return 0;
 }