[v4.4,04/45] arm64: move TASK_* definitions to <asm/processor.h>

Message ID 8e205c0d0442af886efa2996d6149ce9dbec39ce.1560480942.git.viresh.kumar@linaro.org
State Superseded
Headers show
Series
  • V4.4 backport of arm64 Spectre patches
Related show

Commit Message

Viresh Kumar June 14, 2019, 3:07 a.m.
From: Yury Norov <ynorov@caviumnetworks.com>


commit eef94a3d09aab437c8c254de942d8b1aa76455e2 upstream.

ILP32 series [1] introduces the dependency on <asm/is_compat.h> for
TASK_SIZE macro. Which in turn requires <asm/thread_info.h>, and
<asm/thread_info.h> include <asm/memory.h>, giving a circular dependency,
because TASK_SIZE is currently located in <asm/memory.h>.

In other architectures, TASK_SIZE is defined in <asm/processor.h>, and
moving TASK_SIZE there fixes the problem.

Discussion: https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/9929107/

[1] https://github.com/norov/linux/tree/ilp32-next

CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
Suggested-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Yury Norov <ynorov@caviumnetworks.com>

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>

---
 arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h    | 15 ---------------
 arch/arm64/include/asm/processor.h | 21 +++++++++++++++++++++
 arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S          |  2 +-
 3 files changed, 22 insertions(+), 16 deletions(-)

-- 
2.21.0.rc0.269.g1a574e7a288b

Patch

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h
index b42b930cc19a..959a1e9188fe 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/memory.h
@@ -43,8 +43,6 @@ 
  *		 (VA_BITS - 1))
  * VA_BITS - the maximum number of bits for virtual addresses.
  * VA_START - the first kernel virtual address.
- * TASK_SIZE - the maximum size of a user space task.
- * TASK_UNMAPPED_BASE - the lower boundary of the mmap VM area.
  * The module space lives between the addresses given by TASK_SIZE
  * and PAGE_OFFSET - it must be within 128MB of the kernel text.
  */
@@ -58,19 +56,6 @@ 
 #define PCI_IO_END		(MODULES_VADDR - SZ_2M)
 #define PCI_IO_START		(PCI_IO_END - PCI_IO_SIZE)
 #define FIXADDR_TOP		(PCI_IO_START - SZ_2M)
-#define TASK_SIZE_64		(UL(1) << VA_BITS)
-
-#ifdef CONFIG_COMPAT
-#define TASK_SIZE_32		UL(0x100000000)
-#define TASK_SIZE		(test_thread_flag(TIF_32BIT) ? \
-				TASK_SIZE_32 : TASK_SIZE_64)
-#define TASK_SIZE_OF(tsk)	(test_tsk_thread_flag(tsk, TIF_32BIT) ? \
-				TASK_SIZE_32 : TASK_SIZE_64)
-#else
-#define TASK_SIZE		TASK_SIZE_64
-#endif /* CONFIG_COMPAT */
-
-#define TASK_UNMAPPED_BASE	(PAGE_ALIGN(TASK_SIZE / 4))
 
 /*
  * Physical vs virtual RAM address space conversion.  These are
diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/processor.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/processor.h
index b1126eea73ae..12d5b2b97f04 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/processor.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/processor.h
@@ -19,6 +19,10 @@ 
 #ifndef __ASM_PROCESSOR_H
 #define __ASM_PROCESSOR_H
 
+#define TASK_SIZE_64		(UL(1) << VA_BITS)
+
+#ifndef __ASSEMBLY__
+
 /*
  * Default implementation of macro that returns current
  * instruction pointer ("program counter").
@@ -35,6 +39,22 @@ 
 #include <asm/ptrace.h>
 #include <asm/types.h>
 
+/*
+ * TASK_SIZE - the maximum size of a user space task.
+ * TASK_UNMAPPED_BASE - the lower boundary of the mmap VM area.
+ */
+#ifdef CONFIG_COMPAT
+#define TASK_SIZE_32		UL(0x100000000)
+#define TASK_SIZE		(test_thread_flag(TIF_32BIT) ? \
+				TASK_SIZE_32 : TASK_SIZE_64)
+#define TASK_SIZE_OF(tsk)	(test_tsk_thread_flag(tsk, TIF_32BIT) ? \
+				TASK_SIZE_32 : TASK_SIZE_64)
+#else
+#define TASK_SIZE		TASK_SIZE_64
+#endif /* CONFIG_COMPAT */
+
+#define TASK_UNMAPPED_BASE	(PAGE_ALIGN(TASK_SIZE / 4))
+
 #define STACK_TOP_MAX		TASK_SIZE_64
 #ifdef CONFIG_COMPAT
 #define AARCH32_VECTORS_BASE	0xffff0000
@@ -186,4 +206,5 @@  static inline void spin_lock_prefetch(const void *x)
 
 int cpu_enable_pan(void *__unused);
 
+#endif /* __ASSEMBLY__ */
 #endif /* __ASM_PROCESSOR_H */
diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
index 586326981769..c849be9231bb 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
@@ -27,7 +27,7 @@ 
 #include <asm/cpufeature.h>
 #include <asm/errno.h>
 #include <asm/esr.h>
-#include <asm/memory.h>
+#include <asm/processor.h>
 #include <asm/thread_info.h>
 #include <asm/asm-uaccess.h>
 #include <asm/unistd.h>