[4.19,100/114] arm64: add sysfs vulnerability show for spectre-v2

Message ID 20191010083613.477591447@linuxfoundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #24005
Related show

Commit Message

Greg KH Oct. 10, 2019, 8:36 a.m.
From: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>


[ Upstream commit d2532e27b5638bb2e2dd52b80b7ea2ec65135377 ]

Track whether all the cores in the machine are vulnerable to Spectre-v2,
and whether all the vulnerable cores have been mitigated. We then expose
this information to userspace via sysfs.

Signed-off-by: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

Tested-by: Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c |   27 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++-
 1 file changed, 26 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch

--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
@@ -480,6 +480,10 @@  has_cortex_a76_erratum_1463225(const str
 	.type = ARM64_CPUCAP_LOCAL_CPU_ERRATUM,			\
 	CAP_MIDR_RANGE_LIST(midr_list)
 
+/* Track overall mitigation state. We are only mitigated if all cores are ok */
+static bool __hardenbp_enab = true;
+static bool __spectrev2_safe = true;
+
 /*
  * Generic helper for handling capabilties with multiple (match,enable) pairs
  * of call backs, sharing the same capability bit.
@@ -522,6 +526,10 @@  static const struct midr_range spectre_v
 	{ /* sentinel */ }
 };
 
+/*
+ * Track overall bp hardening for all heterogeneous cores in the machine.
+ * We are only considered "safe" if all booted cores are known safe.
+ */
 static bool __maybe_unused
 check_branch_predictor(const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities *entry, int scope)
 {
@@ -543,6 +551,8 @@  check_branch_predictor(const struct arm6
 	if (!need_wa)
 		return false;
 
+	__spectrev2_safe = false;
+
 	if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR)) {
 		pr_warn_once("spectrev2 mitigation disabled by kernel configuration\n");
 		__hardenbp_enab = false;
@@ -552,11 +562,14 @@  check_branch_predictor(const struct arm6
 	/* forced off */
 	if (__nospectre_v2) {
 		pr_info_once("spectrev2 mitigation disabled by command line option\n");
+		__hardenbp_enab = false;
 		return false;
 	}
 
-	if (need_wa < 0)
+	if (need_wa < 0) {
 		pr_warn_once("ARM_SMCCC_ARCH_WORKAROUND_1 missing from firmware\n");
+		__hardenbp_enab = false;
+	}
 
 	return (need_wa > 0);
 }
@@ -753,3 +766,15 @@  ssize_t cpu_show_spectre_v1(struct devic
 {
 	return sprintf(buf, "Mitigation: __user pointer sanitization\n");
 }
+
+ssize_t cpu_show_spectre_v2(struct device *dev, struct device_attribute *attr,
+		char *buf)
+{
+	if (__spectrev2_safe)
+		return sprintf(buf, "Not affected\n");
+
+	if (__hardenbp_enab)
+		return sprintf(buf, "Mitigation: Branch predictor hardening\n");
+
+	return sprintf(buf, "Vulnerable\n");
+}