[4.19,099/114] arm64: Always enable spectre-v2 vulnerability detection

Message ID 20191010083613.410310738@linuxfoundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #24005
Related show

Commit Message

Greg KH Oct. 10, 2019, 8:36 a.m.
From: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>


[ Upstream commit 8c1e3d2bb44cbb998cb28ff9a18f105fee7f1eb3 ]

Ensure we are always able to detect whether or not the CPU is affected
by Spectre-v2, so that we can later advertise this to userspace.

Signed-off-by: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

Tested-by: Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c |   15 ++++++++-------
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

Patch

--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
@@ -87,7 +87,6 @@  cpu_enable_trap_ctr_access(const struct
 
 atomic_t arm64_el2_vector_last_slot = ATOMIC_INIT(-1);
 
-#ifdef CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR
 #include <asm/mmu_context.h>
 #include <asm/cacheflush.h>
 
@@ -225,11 +224,11 @@  static int detect_harden_bp_fw(void)
 	    ((midr & MIDR_CPU_MODEL_MASK) == MIDR_QCOM_FALKOR_V1))
 		cb = qcom_link_stack_sanitization;
 
-	install_bp_hardening_cb(cb, smccc_start, smccc_end);
+	if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR))
+		install_bp_hardening_cb(cb, smccc_start, smccc_end);
 
 	return 1;
 }
-#endif	/* CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR */
 
 DEFINE_PER_CPU_READ_MOSTLY(u64, arm64_ssbd_callback_required);
 
@@ -513,7 +512,6 @@  multi_entry_cap_cpu_enable(const struct
 			caps->cpu_enable(caps);
 }
 
-#ifdef CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR
 /*
  * List of CPUs that do not need any Spectre-v2 mitigation at all.
  */
@@ -545,6 +543,12 @@  check_branch_predictor(const struct arm6
 	if (!need_wa)
 		return false;
 
+	if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR)) {
+		pr_warn_once("spectrev2 mitigation disabled by kernel configuration\n");
+		__hardenbp_enab = false;
+		return false;
+	}
+
 	/* forced off */
 	if (__nospectre_v2) {
 		pr_info_once("spectrev2 mitigation disabled by command line option\n");
@@ -556,7 +560,6 @@  check_branch_predictor(const struct arm6
 
 	return (need_wa > 0);
 }
-#endif
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_HARDEN_EL2_VECTORS
 
@@ -715,13 +718,11 @@  const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities arm6
 		ERRATA_MIDR_ALL_VERSIONS(MIDR_CORTEX_A73),
 	},
 #endif
-#ifdef CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR
 	{
 		.capability = ARM64_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR,
 		.type = ARM64_CPUCAP_LOCAL_CPU_ERRATUM,
 		.matches = check_branch_predictor,
 	},
-#endif
 #ifdef CONFIG_HARDEN_EL2_VECTORS
 	{
 		.desc = "EL2 vector hardening",