[v7,6/8] usb: dwc3: Rework resets initialization to be more flexible

Message ID 20191212014233.32799-7-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • HiKey960 USB support
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz Dec. 12, 2019, 1:42 a.m.
The dwc3 core binding specifies one reset.

However some variants of the hardware may have more. Previously
this was handled by using the dwc3-of-simple glue driver, but
that resulted in a proliferation of bindings for for every
variant, when the only difference was the clocks and resets
lists.

So this patch reworks the reading of the resets to fetch all the
resets specified in the dts together.

This patch was recommended by Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
as an alternative to creating multiple bindings for each variant
of hardware.

Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
CC: ShuFan Lee <shufan_lee@richtek.com>
Cc: Heikki Krogerus <heikki.krogerus@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: Chunfeng Yun <chunfeng.yun@mediatek.com>
Cc: Yu Chen <chenyu56@huawei.com>
Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: Jun Li <lijun.kernel@gmail.com>
Cc: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
Cc: Guillaume Gardet <Guillaume.Gardet@arm.com>
Cc: Jack Pham <jackp@codeaurora.org>
Cc: linux-usb@vger.kernel.org
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Suggested-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

---
v3: Rework dwc3 core rather then adding another dwc-of-simple
    binding.
v6: Re-introduce this patch, on Rob's suggestion
---
 drivers/usb/dwc3/core.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

-- 
2.17.1

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/usb/dwc3/core.c b/drivers/usb/dwc3/core.c
index c6316d4b7593..19504b907476 100644
--- a/drivers/usb/dwc3/core.c
+++ b/drivers/usb/dwc3/core.c
@@ -1462,7 +1462,7 @@  static int dwc3_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
 
 	dwc3_get_properties(dwc);
 
-	dwc->reset = devm_reset_control_get_optional_shared(dev, NULL);
+	dwc->reset = devm_reset_control_array_get(dev, true, true);
 	if (IS_ERR(dwc->reset))
 		return PTR_ERR(dwc->reset);