[5.4,253/434] perf tools: Fix cross compile for ARM64

Message ID 20191229172718.726560429@linuxfoundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #25986
Related show

Commit Message

Greg Kroah-Hartman Dec. 29, 2019, 5:25 p.m.
From: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>


[ Upstream commit 71f699078b154fcb1c9162fd0208ada9ce532ffc ]

Currently when cross compiling perf tool for ARM64 on my x86 machine I
get this error:

  arch/arm64/util/sym-handling.c:9:10: fatal error: gelf.h: No such file or directory
   #include <gelf.h>

For the build, libelf is reported off:

  Auto-detecting system features:
  ...
  ...                        libelf: [ OFF ]

Indeed, test-libelf is not built successfully:

  more ./build/feature/test-libelf.make.output
  test-libelf.c:2:10: fatal error: libelf.h: No such file or directory
   #include <libelf.h>
          ^~~~~~~~~~
  compilation terminated.

I have no such problems natively compiling on ARM64, and I did not
previously have this issue for cross compiling. Fix by relocating the
gelf.h include.

Signed-off-by: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>

Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/1573045254-39833-1-git-send-email-john.garry@huawei.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>

---
 tools/perf/arch/arm64/util/sym-handling.c | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

-- 
2.20.1

Patch

diff --git a/tools/perf/arch/arm64/util/sym-handling.c b/tools/perf/arch/arm64/util/sym-handling.c
index 5df788985130..8dfa3e5229f1 100644
--- a/tools/perf/arch/arm64/util/sym-handling.c
+++ b/tools/perf/arch/arm64/util/sym-handling.c
@@ -6,9 +6,10 @@ 
 
 #include "symbol.h" // for the elf__needs_adjust_symbols() prototype
 #include <stdbool.h>
-#include <gelf.h>
 
 #ifdef HAVE_LIBELF_SUPPORT
+#include <gelf.h>
+
 bool elf__needs_adjust_symbols(GElf_Ehdr ehdr)
 {
 	return ehdr.e_type == ET_EXEC ||