drm: msm: Fix return type of dsi_mgr_connector_mode_valid for kCFI

Message ID 20200129201244.65261-1-john.stultz@linaro.org
State Accepted
Commit 7fd2dfc3694922eb7ace4801b7208cf9f62ebc7d
Headers show
Series
  • drm: msm: Fix return type of dsi_mgr_connector_mode_valid for kCFI
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz Jan. 29, 2020, 8:12 p.m.
I was hitting kCFI crashes when building with clang, and after
some digging finally narrowed it down to the
dsi_mgr_connector_mode_valid() function being implemented as
returning an int, instead of an enum drm_mode_status.

This patch fixes it, and appeases the opaque word of the kCFI
gods (seriously, clang inlining everything makes the kCFI
backtraces only really rough estimates of where things went
wrong).

Thanks as always to Sami for his help narrowing this down.

Cc: Rob Clark <robdclark@gmail.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>
Cc: Sami Tolvanen <samitolvanen@google.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Alistair Delva <adelva@google.com>
Cc: Amit Pundir <amit.pundir@linaro.org>
Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
Cc: freedreno@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: clang-built-linux@googlegroups.com
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

---
 drivers/gpu/drm/msm/dsi/dsi_manager.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

-- 
2.17.1

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/dsi/dsi_manager.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/dsi/dsi_manager.c
index 271aa7bbca925..355a60b4a536f 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/dsi/dsi_manager.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/msm/dsi/dsi_manager.c
@@ -336,7 +336,7 @@  static int dsi_mgr_connector_get_modes(struct drm_connector *connector)
 	return num;
 }
 
-static int dsi_mgr_connector_mode_valid(struct drm_connector *connector,
+static enum drm_mode_status dsi_mgr_connector_mode_valid(struct drm_connector *connector,
 				struct drm_display_mode *mode)
 {
 	int id = dsi_mgr_connector_get_id(connector);