[v4,6/6] regulator: Use driver_deferred_probe_timeout for regulator_init_complete_work

Message ID 20200220050440.45878-7-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • driver core: Try to improve and cleanup driver_deferred_probe_check_state()
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz Feb. 20, 2020, 5:04 a.m.
The regulator_init_complete_work logic defers the cleanup for an
arbitrary 30 seconds of time to allow modules loaded by userland
to start.

This arbitrary timeout is similar to the
driver_deferred_probe_timeout value, and its been suggested we
align these so users have a method to extend the timeouts as
needed.

So this patch changes the logic to use the
driver_deferred_probe_timeout value if it is set, otherwise we
directly call the regulator_init_complete_work_function().

Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

Change-Id: I9fa2411abbb91ed4dd0edc41e8cc8583577c005b
---
v4:
* Split out into its own patch, as suggested by Mark
---
 drivers/regulator/core.c | 25 ++++++++++++++-----------
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

-- 
2.17.1

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/regulator/core.c b/drivers/regulator/core.c
index d015d99cb59d..394e7b11576a 100644
--- a/drivers/regulator/core.c
+++ b/drivers/regulator/core.c
@@ -5767,18 +5767,21 @@  static int __init regulator_init_complete(void)
 		has_full_constraints = true;
 
 	/*
-	 * We punt completion for an arbitrary amount of time since
-	 * systems like distros will load many drivers from userspace
-	 * so consumers might not always be ready yet, this is
-	 * particularly an issue with laptops where this might bounce
-	 * the display off then on.  Ideally we'd get a notification
-	 * from userspace when this happens but we don't so just wait
-	 * a bit and hope we waited long enough.  It'd be better if
-	 * we'd only do this on systems that need it, and a kernel
-	 * command line option might be useful.
+	 * If driver_deferred_probe_timeout is set, we punt
+	 * completion for that many seconds since systems like
+	 * distros will load many drivers from userspace so consumers
+	 * might not always be ready yet, this is particularly an
+	 * issue with laptops where this might bounce the display off
+	 * then on.  Ideally we'd get a notification from userspace
+	 * when this happens but we don't so just wait a bit and hope
+	 * we waited long enough.  It'd be better if we'd only do
+	 * this on systems that need it.
 	 */
-	schedule_delayed_work(&regulator_init_complete_work,
-			      msecs_to_jiffies(30000));
+	if (driver_deferred_probe_timeout >= 0)
+		schedule_delayed_work(&regulator_init_complete_work,
+				      driver_deferred_probe_timeout * HZ);
+	else
+		regulator_init_complete_work_function(NULL);
 
 	return 0;
 }