[RESEND,x2,v2] phy: qcom-qusb2: Re add "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string

Message ID 20200421041815.1808-1-john.stultz@linaro.org
State Superseded
Headers show
Series
  • [RESEND,x2,v2] phy: qcom-qusb2: Re add "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz April 21, 2020, 4:18 a.m.
This patch fixes a regression in 5.7-rc1+

In commit 8fe75cd4cddf ("phy: qcom-qusb2: Add generic QUSB2 V2
PHY support"), the change was made to add "qcom,qusb2-v2-phy"
as a generic compat string. However the change also removed
the "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string, which is documented
in the binding and already in use.

This patch re-adds the "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" compat string
which allows the driver to continue to work with existing dts
entries such as found on the db845c.

Cc: Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: Manu Gautam <mgautam@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Sandeep Maheswaram <sanm@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@chromium.org>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>
Cc: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>
Cc: linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Reviewed-by: Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>

Reviewed-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>

Reviewed-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>

Fixes: 8fe75cd4cddf ("phy: qcom-qusb2: Add generic QUSB2 V2 PHY support")
Reported-by: YongQin Liu <yongqin.liu@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

---
v2: Add deprecation note on "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy" string
    as suggested by Doug.
---
 drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c | 7 +++++++
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+)

-- 
2.17.1

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c b/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c
index 3708d43b7508..393011a05b48 100644
--- a/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c
+++ b/drivers/phy/qualcomm/phy-qcom-qusb2.c
@@ -815,6 +815,13 @@  static const struct of_device_id qusb2_phy_of_match_table[] = {
 	}, {
 		.compatible	= "qcom,msm8998-qusb2-phy",
 		.data		= &msm8998_phy_cfg,
+	}, {
+		/*
+		 * Deprecated. Only here to support legacy device
+		 * trees that didn't include "qcom,qusb2-v2-phy"
+		 */
+		.compatible	= "qcom,sdm845-qusb2-phy",
+		.data		= &qusb2_v2_phy_cfg,
 	}, {
 		.compatible	= "qcom,qusb2-v2-phy",
 		.data		= &qusb2_v2_phy_cfg,