regulator: Revert "Use driver_deferred_probe_timeout for regulator_init_complete_work"

Message ID 20200429172349.55979-1-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • regulator: Revert "Use driver_deferred_probe_timeout for regulator_init_complete_work"
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz April 29, 2020, 5:23 p.m.
This reverts commit dca0b44957e5 ("regulator: Use
driver_deferred_probe_timeout for regulator_init_complete_work"),
as we ended up reverting the default deferred_probe_timeout
value back to zero, to preserve behavior with 5.6 we need to
decouple the regulator timeout which was previously 30 seconds.

This avoids breaking some systems that depend on the regulator
timeout but don't require the deferred probe timeout.

Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Reported-by: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>
Suggested-by: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
 drivers/regulator/core.c | 25 +++++++++++--------------
 1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/regulator/core.c b/drivers/regulator/core.c
index c340505150b6..7486f6e4e613 100644
--- a/drivers/regulator/core.c
+++ b/drivers/regulator/core.c
@@ -5754,10 +5754,6 @@  static DECLARE_DELAYED_WORK(regulator_init_complete_work,
 
 static int __init regulator_init_complete(void)
 {
-	int delay = driver_deferred_probe_timeout;
-
-	if (delay < 0)
-		delay = 0;
 	/*
 	 * Since DT doesn't provide an idiomatic mechanism for
 	 * enabling full constraints and since it's much more natural
@@ -5768,17 +5764,18 @@  static int __init regulator_init_complete(void)
 		has_full_constraints = true;
 
 	/*
-	 * If driver_deferred_probe_timeout is set, we punt
-	 * completion for that many seconds since systems like
-	 * distros will load many drivers from userspace so consumers
-	 * might not always be ready yet, this is particularly an
-	 * issue with laptops where this might bounce the display off
-	 * then on.  Ideally we'd get a notification from userspace
-	 * when this happens but we don't so just wait a bit and hope
-	 * we waited long enough.  It'd be better if we'd only do
-	 * this on systems that need it.
+	 * We punt completion for an arbitrary amount of time since
+	 * systems like distros will load many drivers from userspace
+	 * so consumers might not always be ready yet, this is
+	 * particularly an issue with laptops where this might bounce
+	 * the display off then on.  Ideally we'd get a notification
+	 * from userspace when this happens but we don't so just wait
+	 * a bit and hope we waited long enough.  It'd be better if
+	 * we'd only do this on systems that need it, and a kernel
+	 * command line option might be useful.
 	 */
-	schedule_delayed_work(&regulator_init_complete_work, delay * HZ);
+	schedule_delayed_work(&regulator_init_complete_work,
+			      msecs_to_jiffies(30000));
 
 	return 0;
 }