[v3,2/3] driver core: Use dev_warn() instead of dev_WARN() for deferred_probe_timeout warnings

Message ID 20200422203245.83244-3-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #38346
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz April 22, 2020, 8:32 p.m.
In commit c8c43cee29f6 ("driver core: Fix
driver_deferred_probe_check_state() logic") and following
changes the logic was changes slightly so that if there is no
driver to match whats found in the dtb, we wait the sepcified
seconds for modules to be loaded by userland, and then timeout,
where as previously we'd print "ignoring dependency for device,
assuming no driver" and immediately return -ENODEV after
initcall_done.

However, in the timeout case (which previously existed but was
practicaly un-used without a boot argument), the timeout message
uses dev_WARN(). This means folks are now seeing a big backtrace
in their boot logs if there a entry in their dts that doesn't
have a driver.

To fix this, lets use dev_warn(), instead of dev_WARN() to match
the previous error path.

Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru>
Cc: Hideaki YOSHIFUJI <yoshfuji@linux-ipv6.org>
Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Yoshihiro Shimoda <yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@renesas.com>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
Cc: Basil Eljuse <Basil.Eljuse@arm.com>
Cc: Ferry Toth <fntoth@gmail.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>
Cc: netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Fixes: c8c43cee29f6 ("driver core: Fix driver_deferred_probe_check_state() logic")
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
 drivers/base/dd.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/base/dd.c b/drivers/base/dd.c
index 908ae4d7805e..9c88afa5c74a 100644
--- a/drivers/base/dd.c
+++ b/drivers/base/dd.c
@@ -258,7 +258,7 @@  int driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev)
 	}
 
 	if (!driver_deferred_probe_timeout && initcalls_done) {
-		dev_WARN(dev, "deferred probe timeout, ignoring dependency");
+		dev_warn(dev, "deferred probe timeout, ignoring dependency");
 		return -ETIMEDOUT;
 	}