[v4,5/6] driver core: Rename deferred_probe_timeout and make it global

Message ID 20200220050440.45878-6-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • [v4,1/6] driver core: Fix driver_deferred_probe_check_state() logic
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz Feb. 20, 2020, 5:04 a.m.
Since other subsystems (like regulator) have similar arbitrary
timeouts for how long they try to resolve driver dependencies,
rename deferred_probe_timeout to driver_deferred_probe_timeout
and set it as global, so it can be shared.

Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Change-Id: I92ee3b392004ecc9217c5337b54eda48c2d7f3ee
---
v4:
* Split out into its own patch as suggested by Mark
* Renamed deferred_probe_timeout as suggested by Greg
---
 drivers/base/dd.c             | 18 ++++++++++--------
 include/linux/device/driver.h |  1 +
 2 files changed, 11 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/base/dd.c b/drivers/base/dd.c
index 408e4da081da..39f1ce6d4f1c 100644
--- a/drivers/base/dd.c
+++ b/drivers/base/dd.c
@@ -229,17 +229,19 @@  DEFINE_SHOW_ATTRIBUTE(deferred_devs);
  * In the case of modules, set the default probe timeout to
  * 30 seconds to give userland some time to load needed modules
  */
-static int deferred_probe_timeout = 30;
+int driver_deferred_probe_timeout = 30;
 #else
 /* In the case of !modules, no probe timeout needed */
-static int deferred_probe_timeout = -1;
+int driver_deferred_probe_timeout = -1;
 #endif
+EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(driver_deferred_probe_timeout);
+
 static int __init deferred_probe_timeout_setup(char *str)
 {
 	int timeout;
 
 	if (!kstrtoint(str, 10, &timeout))
-		deferred_probe_timeout = timeout;
+		driver_deferred_probe_timeout = timeout;
 	return 1;
 }
 __setup("deferred_probe_timeout=", deferred_probe_timeout_setup);
@@ -259,10 +261,10 @@  __setup("deferred_probe_timeout=", deferred_probe_timeout_setup);
  */
 int driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev)
 {
-	if (!initcalls_done || deferred_probe_timeout > 0)
+	if (!initcalls_done || driver_deferred_probe_timeout > 0)
 		return -EPROBE_DEFER;
 
-	if (!deferred_probe_timeout) {
+	if (!driver_deferred_probe_timeout) {
 		dev_WARN(dev, "deferred probe timeout, ignoring dependency");
 		return -ETIMEDOUT;
 	}
@@ -276,7 +278,7 @@  static void deferred_probe_timeout_work_func(struct work_struct *work)
 {
 	struct device_private *private, *p;
 
-	deferred_probe_timeout = 0;
+	driver_deferred_probe_timeout = 0;
 	driver_deferred_probe_trigger();
 	flush_work(&deferred_probe_work);
 
@@ -310,9 +312,9 @@  static int deferred_probe_initcall(void)
 	driver_deferred_probe_trigger();
 	flush_work(&deferred_probe_work);
 
-	if (deferred_probe_timeout > 0) {
+	if (driver_deferred_probe_timeout > 0) {
 		schedule_delayed_work(&deferred_probe_timeout_work,
-			deferred_probe_timeout * HZ);
+			driver_deferred_probe_timeout * HZ);
 	}
 	return 0;
 }
diff --git a/include/linux/device/driver.h b/include/linux/device/driver.h
index 5242afabfaba..ee7ba5b5417e 100644
--- a/include/linux/device/driver.h
+++ b/include/linux/device/driver.h
@@ -236,6 +236,7 @@  driver_find_device_by_acpi_dev(struct device_driver *drv, const void *adev)
 }
 #endif
 
+extern int driver_deferred_probe_timeout;
 void driver_deferred_probe_add(struct device *dev);
 int driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev);
 void driver_init(void);