[v5,08/16] spi: dw: Fix Rx-only DMA transfers

Message ID 20200529035915.20790-9-Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru
State New
Headers show
Series
  • spi: dw: Add generic DW DMA controller support
Related show

Commit Message

Serge Semin May 29, 2020, 3:59 a.m.
Tx-only DMA transfers are working perfectly fine since in this case
the code just ignores the Rx FIFO overflow interrupts. But it turns
out the SPI Rx-only transfers are broken since nothing pushing any
data to the shift registers, so the Rx FIFO is left empty and the
SPI core subsystems just returns a timeout error. Since DW DMAC
driver doesn't support something like cyclic write operations of
a single byte to a device register, the only way to support the
Rx-only SPI transfers is to fake it by using a dummy Tx-buffer.
This is what we intend to fix in this commit by setting the
SPI_CONTROLLER_MUST_TX flag for DMA-capable platform.

Signed-off-by: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru>
Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Georgy Vlasov <Georgy.Vlasov@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Ramil Zaripov <Ramil.Zaripov@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Alexey Malahov <Alexey.Malahov@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Feng Tang <feng.tang@intel.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
---
 drivers/spi/spi-dw.c | 1 +
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c b/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c
index 6939e003e3e9..4d1849699a12 100644
--- a/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c
+++ b/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c
@@ -515,6 +515,7 @@  int dw_spi_add_host(struct device *dev, struct dw_spi *dws)
 			dev_warn(dev, "DMA init failed\n");
 		} else {
 			master->can_dma = dws->dma_ops->can_dma;
+			master->flags |= SPI_CONTROLLER_MUST_TX;
 		}
 	}