net: meth: remove spurious copyright text

Message ID 20200423093903.171b3999@lwn.net
State New
Headers show
Series
  • net: meth: remove spurious copyright text
Related show

Commit Message

Jonathan Corbet April 23, 2020, 3:39 p.m.
Evidently, at some point in the pre-githistorious past,
drivers/net/ethernet/sgi/meth.h somehow contained some code from the
"snull" driver from the Linux Device Drivers book.  A comment crediting
that source, asserting copyright ownership by the LDD authors, and imposing
the LDD2 license terms was duly added to the file.

Any code that may have been derived from snull is long gone, and the
distribution terms are not GPL-compatible.  Since the copyright claim is
not based in fact (if it ever was), simply remove it and the distribution
terms as well.

Reported-by: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
Acked-by: Alessandro Rubini <rubini@gnudd.com>
CC: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
CC: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
CC: "Fendt, Oliver" <oliver.fendt@siemens.com>
Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/sgi/meth.h | 16 ----------------
 1 file changed, 16 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/sgi/meth.h b/drivers/net/ethernet/sgi/meth.h
index 5b145c6bad60..2ba15c263e8b 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/sgi/meth.h
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/sgi/meth.h
@@ -1,19 +1,3 @@ 
-
-/*
- * snull.h -- definitions for the network module
- *
- * Copyright (C) 2001 Alessandro Rubini and Jonathan Corbet
- * Copyright (C) 2001 O'Reilly & Associates
- *
- * The source code in this file can be freely used, adapted,
- * and redistributed in source or binary form, so long as an
- * acknowledgment appears in derived source files.  The citation
- * should list that the code comes from the book "Linux Device
- * Drivers" by Alessandro Rubini and Jonathan Corbet, published
- * by O'Reilly & Associates.   No warranty is attached;
- * we cannot take responsibility for errors or fitness for use.
- */
-
 /* version dependencies have been confined to a separate file */
 
 /* Tunable parameters */