[4.19,182/267] spi: dw: Return any value retrieved from the dma_transfer callback

Message ID 20200619141657.498868116@linuxfoundation.org
State Superseded
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #28331
Related show

Commit Message

Greg Kroah-Hartman June 19, 2020, 2:32 p.m.
From: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru>

[ Upstream commit f0410bbf7d0fb80149e3b17d11d31f5b5197873e ]

DW APB SSI DMA-part of the driver may need to perform the requested
SPI-transfer synchronously. In that case the dma_transfer() callback
will return 0 as a marker of the SPI transfer being finished so the
SPI core doesn't need to wait and may proceed with the SPI message
trasnfers pumping procedure. This will be needed to fix the problem
when DMA transactions are finished, but there is still data left in
the SPI Tx/Rx FIFOs being sent/received. But for now make dma_transfer
to return 1 as the normal dw_spi_transfer_one() method.

Signed-off-by: Serge Semin <Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Georgy Vlasov <Georgy.Vlasov@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Ramil Zaripov <Ramil.Zaripov@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Alexey Malahov <Alexey.Malahov@baikalelectronics.ru>
Cc: Thomas Bogendoerfer <tsbogend@alpha.franken.de>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Feng Tang <feng.tang@intel.com>
Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20200529131205.31838-3-Sergey.Semin@baikalelectronics.ru
Signed-off-by: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
 drivers/spi/spi-dw-mid.c | 2 +-
 drivers/spi/spi-dw.c     | 7 ++-----
 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/spi/spi-dw-mid.c b/drivers/spi/spi-dw-mid.c
index e1b34ef9a31c..10f328558d55 100644
--- a/drivers/spi/spi-dw-mid.c
+++ b/drivers/spi/spi-dw-mid.c
@@ -274,7 +274,7 @@  static int mid_spi_dma_transfer(struct dw_spi *dws, struct spi_transfer *xfer)
 		dma_async_issue_pending(dws->txchan);
 	}
 
-	return 0;
+	return 1;
 }
 
 static void mid_spi_dma_stop(struct dw_spi *dws)
diff --git a/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c b/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c
index 3fbd6f01fb10..b1c137261d0f 100644
--- a/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c
+++ b/drivers/spi/spi-dw.c
@@ -383,11 +383,8 @@  static int dw_spi_transfer_one(struct spi_controller *master,
 
 	spi_enable_chip(dws, 1);
 
-	if (dws->dma_mapped) {
-		ret = dws->dma_ops->dma_transfer(dws, transfer);
-		if (ret < 0)
-			return ret;
-	}
+	if (dws->dma_mapped)
+		return dws->dma_ops->dma_transfer(dws, transfer);
 
 	if (chip->poll_mode)
 		return poll_transfer(dws);