[v2,1/6] ACPI: Add out of bounds and numa_off protections to pxm_to_node

Message ID 20200717175959.899775-2-Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com
State Superseded
Headers show
Series
  • ACPI: Only create NUMA nodes from entries in SRAT or SRAT emulation.
Related show

Commit Message

Jonathan Cameron July 17, 2020, 5:59 p.m.
The function should check the validity of the pxm value before using
it to index the pxm_to_node_map array.

Whilst hardening this code may be good in general, the main intent
here is to enable following patches that use this function to replace
acpi_map_pxm_to_node for non SRAT usecases which should return
NO_NUMA_NODE for PXM entries not matching with those in SRAT.

Signed-off-by: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>

---
 drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

-- 
2.19.1

Comments

Song Bao Hua (Barry Song) July 18, 2020, 5:09 a.m. | #1
> -----Original Message-----

> From: Jonathan Cameron

> Sent: Saturday, July 18, 2020 6:00 AM

> To: linux-mm@kvack.org; linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org;

> linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org; x86@kernel.org

> Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>; Bjorn Helgaas

> <bhelgaas@google.com>; linux-pci@vger.kernel.org; martin@geanix.com; Ingo

> Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>; linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org; Tony Luck

> <tony.luck@intel.com>; Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>; Thomas

> Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>; Linuxarm <linuxarm@huawei.com>; Dan

> Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>; Song Bao Hua (Barry Song)

> <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>; Jonathan Cameron

> <jonathan.cameron@huawei.com>

> Subject: [PATCH v2 1/6] ACPI: Add out of bounds and numa_off protections to

> pxm_to_node

> 

> The function should check the validity of the pxm value before using

> it to index the pxm_to_node_map array.

> 

> Whilst hardening this code may be good in general, the main intent

> here is to enable following patches that use this function to replace

> acpi_map_pxm_to_node for non SRAT usecases which should return

> NO_NUMA_NODE for PXM entries not matching with those in SRAT.

> 

> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>


Reviewed-by: Barry Song <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>


> ---

>  drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c | 2 +-

>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

> 

> diff --git a/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c b/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c

> index 5be5a977da1b..8ef44ee0d76b 100644

> --- a/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c

> +++ b/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c

> @@ -31,7 +31,7 @@ int acpi_numa __initdata;

> 

>  int pxm_to_node(int pxm)

>  {

> -	if (pxm < 0)

> +	if (pxm < 0 || pxm >= MAX_PXM_DOMAINS || numa_off)

>  		return NUMA_NO_NODE;

>  	return pxm_to_node_map[pxm];

>  }

> --

> 2.19.1

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c b/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c
index 5be5a977da1b..8ef44ee0d76b 100644
--- a/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c
+++ b/drivers/acpi/numa/srat.c
@@ -31,7 +31,7 @@  int acpi_numa __initdata;
 
 int pxm_to_node(int pxm)
 {
-	if (pxm < 0)
+	if (pxm < 0 || pxm >= MAX_PXM_DOMAINS || numa_off)
 		return NUMA_NO_NODE;
 	return pxm_to_node_map[pxm];
 }