[added,to,the,3.12,stable,tree] ntp: Fixup adjtimex freq validation on 32-bit systems

Message ID 1428044716-20683-1-git-send-email-jslaby@suse.cz
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Jiri Slaby April 3, 2015, 7:05 a.m.
From: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

This patch has been added to the 3.12 stable tree. If you have any
objections, please let us know.

Patch

===============

commit 29183a70b0b828500816bd794b3fe192fce89f73 upstream.

Additional validation of adjtimex freq values to avoid
potential multiplication overflows were added in commit
5e5aeb4367b (time: adjtimex: Validate the ADJ_FREQUENCY values)

Unfortunately the patch used LONG_MAX/MIN instead of
LLONG_MAX/MIN, which was fine on 64-bit systems, but being
much smaller on 32-bit systems caused false positives
resulting in most direct frequency adjustments to fail w/
EINVAL.

ntpd only does direct frequency adjustments at startup, so
the issue was not as easily observed there, but other time
sync applications like ptpd and chrony were more effected by
the bug.

See bugs:

  https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=92481
  https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1188074

This patch changes the checks to use LLONG_MAX for
clarity, and additionally the checks are disabled
on 32-bit systems since LLONG_MAX/PPM_SCALE is always
larger then the 32-bit long freq value, so multiplication
overflows aren't possible there.

Reported-by: Josh Boyer <jwboyer@fedoraproject.org>
Reported-by: George Joseph <george.joseph@fairview5.com>
Tested-by: George Joseph <george.joseph@fairview5.com>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1423553436-29747-1-git-send-email-john.stultz@linaro.org
[ Prettified the changelog and the comments a bit. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Christian Riesch <christian.riesch@omicron.at>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>
---
 kernel/time/ntp.c | 10 +++++++---
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/time/ntp.c b/kernel/time/ntp.c
index 28db9bedc857..6211d5d6d465 100644
--- a/kernel/time/ntp.c
+++ b/kernel/time/ntp.c
@@ -631,10 +631,14 @@  int ntp_validate_timex(struct timex *txc)
 	if ((txc->modes & ADJ_SETOFFSET) && (!capable(CAP_SYS_TIME)))
 		return -EPERM;
 
-	if (txc->modes & ADJ_FREQUENCY) {
-		if (LONG_MIN / PPM_SCALE > txc->freq)
+	/*
+	 * Check for potential multiplication overflows that can
+	 * only happen on 64-bit systems:
+	 */
+	if ((txc->modes & ADJ_FREQUENCY) && (BITS_PER_LONG == 64)) {
+		if (LLONG_MIN / PPM_SCALE > txc->freq)
 			return -EINVAL;
-		if (LONG_MAX / PPM_SCALE < txc->freq)
+		if (LLONG_MAX / PPM_SCALE < txc->freq)
 			return -EINVAL;
 	}