[added,to,the,4.1,stable,tree] arm64: account for sparsemem section alignment when choosing vmemmap offset

Message ID 1460886804-19372-55-git-send-email-sasha.levin@oracle.com
State Superseded
Headers show

Commit Message

Sasha Levin April 17, 2016, 9:50 a.m.
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>


This patch has been added to the 4.1 stable tree. If you have any
objections, please let us know.

-- 
2.5.0

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe stable" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Patch

===============

[ Upstream commit 36e5cd6b897e17d03008f81e075625d8e43e52d0 ]

Commit dfd55ad85e4a ("arm64: vmemmap: use virtual projection of linear
region") fixed an issue where the struct page array would overflow into the
adjacent virtual memory region if system RAM was placed so high up in
physical memory that its addresses were not representable in the build time
configured virtual address size.

However, the fix failed to take into account that the vmemmap region needs
to be relatively aligned with respect to the sparsemem section size, so that
a sequence of page structs corresponding with a sparsemem section in the
linear region appears naturally aligned in the vmemmap region.

So round up vmemmap to sparsemem section size. Since this essentially moves
the projection of the linear region up in memory, also revert the reduction
of the size of the vmemmap region.

Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Fixes: dfd55ad85e4a ("arm64: vmemmap: use virtual projection of linear region")
Tested-by: Mark Langsdorf <mlangsdo@redhat.com>
Tested-by: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
Tested-by: Robert Richter <rrichter@cavium.com>
Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
---
 arch/arm64/include/asm/pgtable.h | 5 +++--
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgtable.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgtable.h
index 514fb0c..526a9cb 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgtable.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/pgtable.h
@@ -39,12 +39,13 @@ 
  * VMALLOC_END: extends to the available space below vmmemmap, PCI I/O space,
  *	fixed mappings and modules
  */
-#define VMEMMAP_SIZE		ALIGN((1UL << (VA_BITS - PAGE_SHIFT - 1)) * sizeof(struct page), PUD_SIZE)
+#define VMEMMAP_SIZE		ALIGN((1UL << (VA_BITS - PAGE_SHIFT)) * sizeof(struct page), PUD_SIZE)
 #define VMALLOC_START		(UL(0xffffffffffffffff) << VA_BITS)
 #define VMALLOC_END		(PAGE_OFFSET - PUD_SIZE - VMEMMAP_SIZE - SZ_64K)
 
 #define VMEMMAP_START		(VMALLOC_END + SZ_64K)
-#define vmemmap			((struct page *)VMEMMAP_START - (memstart_addr >> PAGE_SHIFT))
+#define vmemmap			((struct page *)VMEMMAP_START - \
+				 SECTION_ALIGN_DOWN(memstart_addr >> PAGE_SHIFT))
 
 #define FIRST_USER_ADDRESS	0UL