[added,to,the,4.1,stable,tree] rapidio/rionet: fix deadlock on SMP

Message ID 1460886804-19372-195-git-send-email-sasha.levin@oracle.com
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Sasha Levin April 17, 2016, 9:53 a.m.
From: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com>


This patch has been added to the 4.1 stable tree. If you have any
objections, please let us know.

-- 
2.5.0

--
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe stable" in
the body of a message to majordomo@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Patch

===============

[ Upstream commit 36915976eca58f2eefa040ba8f9939672564df61 ]

Fix deadlocking during concurrent receive and transmit operations on SMP
platforms caused by the use of incorrect lock: on transmit 'tx_lock'
spinlock should be used instead of 'lock' which is used for receive
operation.

This fix is applicable to kernel versions starting from v2.15.

Signed-off-by: Aurelien Jacquiot <a-jacquiot@ti.com>
Signed-off-by: Alexandre Bounine <alexandre.bounine@idt.com>
Cc: Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Andre van Herk <andre.van.herk@prodrive-technologies.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
---
 drivers/net/rionet.c | 4 ++--
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/rionet.c b/drivers/net/rionet.c
index dac7a0d..18cc2c8 100644
--- a/drivers/net/rionet.c
+++ b/drivers/net/rionet.c
@@ -280,7 +280,7 @@  static void rionet_outb_msg_event(struct rio_mport *mport, void *dev_id, int mbo
 	struct net_device *ndev = dev_id;
 	struct rionet_private *rnet = netdev_priv(ndev);
 
-	spin_lock(&rnet->lock);
+	spin_lock(&rnet->tx_lock);
 
 	if (netif_msg_intr(rnet))
 		printk(KERN_INFO
@@ -299,7 +299,7 @@  static void rionet_outb_msg_event(struct rio_mport *mport, void *dev_id, int mbo
 	if (rnet->tx_cnt < RIONET_TX_RING_SIZE)
 		netif_wake_queue(ndev);
 
-	spin_unlock(&rnet->lock);
+	spin_unlock(&rnet->tx_lock);
 }
 
 static int rionet_open(struct net_device *ndev)