[02/13] clk: core: remove dead code paths

Message ID 1334192572-12499-3-git-send-email-mturquette@linaro.org
State Accepted
Commit 70d347e6cd0d2a7ecc023b44ef721bc2c2a38f22
Headers show

Commit Message

Mike Turquette April 12, 2012, 1:02 a.m.
Some static inline dummy functions were left over from before the clock
core was consolidated from several C files down to one.  Remove them.

Reported-by: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Mike Turquette <mturquette@linaro.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergman <arnd.bergmann@linaro.org>
Cc: Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>
Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Richard Zhao <richard.zhao@linaro.org>
Cc: Saravana Kannan <skannan@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
Cc: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>
Cc: Rajendra Nayak <rnayak@ti.com>
Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@st.com>
---
 drivers/clk/clk.c |    6 ++----
 1 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

Comments

Viresh Kumar April 12, 2012, 6:14 a.m. | #1
On 4/12/2012 6:32 AM, Mike Turquette wrote:
> diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk.c b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> index 3ed36d3..4daacf5 100644
> --- a/drivers/clk/clk.c
> +++ b/drivers/clk/clk.c
> @@ -194,7 +194,7 @@ static int __init clk_debug_init(void)
>  late_initcall(clk_debug_init);
>  #else
>  static inline int clk_debug_register(struct clk *clk) { return 0; }
> -#endif /* CONFIG_COMMON_CLK_DEBUG */
> +#endif

Why is this updated? Isn't this considered good practice anymore?
Mike Turquette April 13, 2012, 10:27 p.m. | #2
On Wed, Apr 11, 2012 at 11:14 PM, Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@st.com> wrote:
> On 4/12/2012 6:32 AM, Mike Turquette wrote:
>> diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk.c b/drivers/clk/clk.c
>> index 3ed36d3..4daacf5 100644
>> --- a/drivers/clk/clk.c
>> +++ b/drivers/clk/clk.c
>> @@ -194,7 +194,7 @@ static int __init clk_debug_init(void)
>>  late_initcall(clk_debug_init);
>>  #else
>>  static inline int clk_debug_register(struct clk *clk) { return 0; }
>> -#endif /* CONFIG_COMMON_CLK_DEBUG */
>> +#endif
>
> Why is this updated? Isn't this considered good practice anymore?

See comments in this thread:
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1276102

Regards,
Mike

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/clk/clk.c b/drivers/clk/clk.c
index 3ed36d3..4daacf5 100644
--- a/drivers/clk/clk.c
+++ b/drivers/clk/clk.c
@@ -194,7 +194,7 @@  static int __init clk_debug_init(void)
 late_initcall(clk_debug_init);
 #else
 static inline int clk_debug_register(struct clk *clk) { return 0; }
-#endif /* CONFIG_COMMON_CLK_DEBUG */
+#endif
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_COMMON_CLK_DISABLE_UNUSED
 /* caller must hold prepare_lock */
@@ -246,9 +246,7 @@  static int clk_disable_unused(void)
 	return 0;
 }
 late_initcall(clk_disable_unused);
-#else
-static inline int clk_disable_unused(struct clk *clk) { return 0; }
-#endif /* CONFIG_COMMON_CLK_DISABLE_UNUSED */
+#endif
 
 /***    helper functions   ***/