[3.16-stable,07/87] mm/hugetlb: improve locking in dissolve_free_huge_pages()

Message ID 20170505194745.3627137-8-arnd@arndb.de
State New
Headers show
Series
  • build warnings and errors
Related show

Commit Message

Arnd Bergmann May 5, 2017, 7:46 p.m.
From: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>


Commit 7b21d5b87b550c5cdaca73bd37c976cc1ab85398 upstream.

For every pfn aligned to minimum_order, dissolve_free_huge_pages() will
call dissolve_free_huge_page() which takes the hugetlb spinlock, even if
the page is not huge at all or a hugepage that is in-use.

Improve this by doing the PageHuge() and page_count() checks already in
dissolve_free_huge_pages() before calling dissolve_free_huge_page().  In
dissolve_free_huge_page(), when holding the spinlock, those checks need
to be revalidated.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20160926172811.94033-4-gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>

Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>

Acked-by: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>

Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Rui Teng <rui.teng@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>

Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>

---
 mm/hugetlb.c | 12 +++++++++---
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

-- 
2.9.0

Patch

diff --git a/mm/hugetlb.c b/mm/hugetlb.c
index 467d04b62948..c892a6b51e8e 100644
--- a/mm/hugetlb.c
+++ b/mm/hugetlb.c
@@ -1105,14 +1105,20 @@  out:
 int dissolve_free_huge_pages(unsigned long start_pfn, unsigned long end_pfn)
 {
 	unsigned long pfn;
+	struct page *page;
 	int rc = 0;
 
 	if (!hugepages_supported())
 		return rc;
 
-	for (pfn = start_pfn; pfn < end_pfn; pfn += 1 << minimum_order)
-		if (rc = dissolve_free_huge_page(pfn_to_page(pfn)))
-			break;
+	for (pfn = start_pfn; pfn < end_pfn; pfn += 1 << minimum_order) {
+		page = pfn_to_page(pfn);
+		if (PageHuge(page) && !page_count(page)) {
+			rc = dissolve_free_huge_page(page);
+			if (rc)
+				break;
+		}
+	}
 
 	return rc;
 }