[edk2,v3,0/7] MdeModulePkg: add support for dispatching foreign arch PE/COFF images

Message ID 20180920230145.7565-1-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Headers show
Series
  • MdeModulePkg: add support for dispatching foreign arch PE/COFF images
Related show

Message

Ard Biesheuvel Sept. 20, 2018, 11:01 p.m.
Add the basic plumbing to DXE core, the PCI bus driver and the boot manager
to allow PE/COFF images to be dispatched that target an architecture that is
not native for the platform, but which is supported by one of potentially
several available emulators.

One implementation of such an emulator can be found here:
https://github.com/ardbiesheuvel/X86EmulatorPkg

This also allows us to get rid of the special treatment of EBC images in
core code. Instead, the EbcDxe driver is augmented with an implementation
of the EDK2 PE/COFF image emulator so that internal knowledge of how EBC
is implemented (I-cache flushing, thunks) is removed from the DXE core.

Changes since v2:
- incorporate feedback from Andrew Fish (delivered in person):
  * pass a device path into the IsImageSupported() protocol method so that an
    implementation can blacklist or whitelist certain devices, or implement
    other policies that depend on the device where the driver originated
  * allow the emulator to supersede the native loading of the image - this
    permits things like X86 on X86 emulators for security sandboxing or debug

Changes since v1:
- subsume the EBC handling into the EDK2 emulator protocol and abstract
  away from EBC specifics in core code.
- allow multiple emulator implementations to co-exist
- incorporate Star's review feedback

Cc: Vincent Zimmer <vincent.zimmer@intel.com>
Cc: Brian Richardson <brian.richardson@intel.com>
Cc: Michael D Kinney <michael.d.kinney@intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Fish <afish@apple.com>
Cc: Leif Lindholm <leif.lindholm@linaro.org>
Cc: Star Zeng <star.zeng@intel.com>
Cc: Eric Dong <eric.dong@intel.com>
Cc: Ruiyu Ni <ruiyu.ni@intel.com>
Cc: Liming Gao <liming.gao@intel.com>
Cc: Jaben Carsey <jaben.carsey@intel.com>
Cc: Steven Shi <steven.shi@intel.com>

Ard Biesheuvel (7):
  MdeModulePkg: introduce PE/COFF image emulator protocol
  MdeModulePkg/DxeCore: invoke the emulator protocol for foreign images
  MdeModulePkg/PciBusDxe: invoke PE/COFF emulator for foreign option
    ROMs
  MdeModulePkg/UefiBootManagerLib: allow foreign Driver#### images
  MdeModulePkg/EbcDxe: implement the PE/COFF emulator protocol
  MdePkg/UefiBaseType.h: treat EBC as a non-native machine type
  MdeModulePkg/DxeCore: remove explicit EBC handling

 MdeModulePkg/Bus/Pci/PciBusDxe/PciBus.h       |   1 +
 MdeModulePkg/Bus/Pci/PciBusDxe/PciBusDxe.inf  |   1 +
 .../Bus/Pci/PciBusDxe/PciOptionRomSupport.c   |  53 +++++-
 MdeModulePkg/Core/Dxe/DxeMain.h               |   6 +-
 MdeModulePkg/Core/Dxe/DxeMain.inf             |   2 +-
 MdeModulePkg/Core/Dxe/Image/Image.c           | 178 ++++++++++++------
 MdeModulePkg/Core/Dxe/Image/Image.h           |   1 +
 .../Include/Protocol/PeCoffImageEmulator.h    | 102 ++++++++++
 .../Library/UefiBootManagerLib/BmLoadOption.c |  51 ++++-
 .../Library/UefiBootManagerLib/InternalBm.h   |   1 +
 .../UefiBootManagerLib/UefiBootManagerLib.inf |   1 +
 MdeModulePkg/MdeModulePkg.dec                 |   4 +
 MdeModulePkg/Universal/EbcDxe/EbcDxe.inf      |   3 +
 MdeModulePkg/Universal/EbcDxe/EbcInt.c        | 127 +++++++++++++
 MdeModulePkg/Universal/EbcDxe/EbcInt.h        |   3 +
 MdePkg/Include/Uefi/UefiBaseType.h            |   8 +-
 16 files changed, 478 insertions(+), 64 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 MdeModulePkg/Include/Protocol/PeCoffImageEmulator.h

-- 
2.17.1

_______________________________________________
edk2-devel mailing list
edk2-devel@lists.01.org
https://lists.01.org/mailman/listinfo/edk2-devel