[4.19,096/114] arm64: Always enable ssb vulnerability detection

Message ID 20191010083613.231594675@linuxfoundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #24004
Related show

Commit Message

Greg Kroah-Hartman Oct. 10, 2019, 8:36 a.m.
From: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>


[ Upstream commit d42281b6e49510f078ace15a8ea10f71e6262581 ]

Ensure we are always able to detect whether or not the CPU is affected
by SSB, so that we can later advertise this to userspace.

Signed-off-by: Jeremy Linton <jeremy.linton@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>

Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

Tested-by: Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@i2se.com>

[will: Use IS_ENABLED instead of #ifdef]
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 arch/arm64/include/asm/cpufeature.h |    4 ----
 arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c      |    9 +++++----
 2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

Patch

--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/cpufeature.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/cpufeature.h
@@ -525,11 +525,7 @@  static inline int arm64_get_ssbd_state(v
 #endif
 }
 
-#ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_SSBD
 void arm64_set_ssbd_mitigation(bool state);
-#else
-static inline void arm64_set_ssbd_mitigation(bool state) {}
-#endif
 
 #endif /* __ASSEMBLY__ */
 
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpu_errata.c
@@ -239,7 +239,6 @@  enable_smccc_arch_workaround_1(const str
 }
 #endif	/* CONFIG_HARDEN_BRANCH_PREDICTOR */
 
-#ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_SSBD
 DEFINE_PER_CPU_READ_MOSTLY(u64, arm64_ssbd_callback_required);
 
 int ssbd_state __read_mostly = ARM64_SSBD_KERNEL;
@@ -312,6 +311,11 @@  void __init arm64_enable_wa2_handling(st
 
 void arm64_set_ssbd_mitigation(bool state)
 {
+	if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARM64_SSBD)) {
+		pr_info_once("SSBD disabled by kernel configuration\n");
+		return;
+	}
+
 	if (this_cpu_has_cap(ARM64_SSBS)) {
 		if (state)
 			asm volatile(SET_PSTATE_SSBS(0));
@@ -431,7 +435,6 @@  out_printmsg:
 
 	return required;
 }
-#endif	/* CONFIG_ARM64_SSBD */
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_ERRATUM_1463225
 DEFINE_PER_CPU(int, __in_cortex_a76_erratum_1463225_wa);
@@ -710,14 +713,12 @@  const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities arm6
 		ERRATA_MIDR_RANGE_LIST(arm64_harden_el2_vectors),
 	},
 #endif
-#ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_SSBD
 	{
 		.desc = "Speculative Store Bypass Disable",
 		.capability = ARM64_SSBD,
 		.type = ARM64_CPUCAP_LOCAL_CPU_ERRATUM,
 		.matches = has_ssbd_mitigation,
 	},
-#endif
 #ifdef CONFIG_ARM64_ERRATUM_1463225
 	{
 		.desc = "ARM erratum 1463225",