[4.14,047/119] arm64: capabilities: Move errata work around check on boot CPU

Message ID 20191027203318.941105623@linuxfoundation.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • Untitled series #24484
Related show

Commit Message

Greg KH Oct. 27, 2019, 9 p.m.
From: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>


[ Upstream commit 5e91107b06811f0ca147cebbedce53626c9c4443 ]

We trigger CPU errata work around check on the boot CPU from
smp_prepare_boot_cpu() to make sure that we run the checks only
after the CPU feature infrastructure is initialised. While this
is correct, we can also do this from init_cpu_features() which
initilises the infrastructure, and is called only on the
Boot CPU. This helps to consolidate the CPU capability handling
to cpufeature.c. No functional changes.

Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Reviewed-by: Dave Martin <dave.martin@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>

Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
 arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c |    5 +++++
 arch/arm64/kernel/smp.c        |    6 ------
 2 files changed, 5 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

Patch

--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
@@ -521,6 +521,11 @@  void __init init_cpu_features(struct cpu
 		init_cpu_ftr_reg(SYS_MVFR2_EL1, info->reg_mvfr2);
 	}
 
+	/*
+	 * Run the errata work around checks on the boot CPU, once we have
+	 * initialised the cpu feature infrastructure.
+	 */
+	update_cpu_errata_workarounds();
 }
 
 static void update_cpu_ftr_reg(struct arm64_ftr_reg *reg, u64 new)
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/smp.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/smp.c
@@ -449,12 +449,6 @@  void __init smp_prepare_boot_cpu(void)
 	jump_label_init();
 	cpuinfo_store_boot_cpu();
 	save_boot_cpu_run_el();
-	/*
-	 * Run the errata work around checks on the boot CPU, once we have
-	 * initialised the cpu feature infrastructure from
-	 * cpuinfo_store_boot_cpu() above.
-	 */
-	update_cpu_errata_workarounds();
 }
 
 static u64 __init of_get_cpu_mpidr(struct device_node *dn)