[v2,5/6] dma-buf: system_heap: Add pagepool support to system heap

Message ID 20201001012151.21149-6-john.stultz@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series
  • dma-buf: Performance improvements for system heap
Related show

Commit Message

John Stultz Oct. 1, 2020, 1:21 a.m.
Reuse/abuse the pagepool code from the network code to speed
up allocation performance.

This is similar to the ION pagepool usage, but tries to
utilize generic code instead of a custom implementation.

Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Mark <lmark@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@kernel.org>
Cc: Brian Starkey <Brian.Starkey@arm.com>
Cc: Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>
Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>
Cc: Sandeep Patil <sspatil@google.com>
Cc: Ørjan Eide <orjan.eide@arm.com>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>
Cc: Simon Ser <contact@emersion.fr>
Cc: James Jones <jajones@nvidia.com>
Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

---
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig       |  1 +
 drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c | 32 +++++++++++++++++++++++++----
 2 files changed, 29 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

-- 
2.17.1

Patch

diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
index a5eef06c4226..f13cde4321b1 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@ 
 config DMABUF_HEAPS_SYSTEM
 	bool "DMA-BUF System Heap"
 	depends on DMABUF_HEAPS
+	select PAGE_POOL
 	help
 	  Choose this option to enable the system dmabuf heap. The system heap
 	  is backed by pages from the buddy allocator. If in doubt, say Y.
diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
index d18937fa5b18..f30904345cce 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@ 
 #include <linux/scatterlist.h>
 #include <linux/slab.h>
 #include <linux/vmalloc.h>
+#include <net/page_pool.h>
 
 struct dma_heap *sys_heap;
 
@@ -46,6 +47,7 @@  struct dma_heap_attachment {
 static gfp_t order_flags[] = {HIGH_ORDER_GFP, LOW_ORDER_GFP, LOW_ORDER_GFP};
 static const unsigned int orders[] = {8, 4, 0};
 #define NUM_ORDERS ARRAY_SIZE(orders)
+struct page_pool *pools[NUM_ORDERS];
 
 static struct sg_table *dup_sg_table(struct sg_table *table)
 {
@@ -265,13 +267,17 @@  static void system_heap_dma_buf_release(struct dma_buf *dmabuf)
 	struct system_heap_buffer *buffer = dmabuf->priv;
 	struct sg_table *table;
 	struct scatterlist *sg;
-	int i;
+	int i, j;
 
 	table = &buffer->sg_table;
 	for_each_sg(table->sgl, sg, table->nents, i) {
 		struct page *page = sg_page(sg);
 
-		__free_pages(page, compound_order(page));
+		for (j = 0; j < NUM_ORDERS; j++) {
+			if (compound_order(page) == orders[j])
+				break;
+		}
+		page_pool_put_full_page(pools[j], page, false);
 	}
 	sg_free_table(table);
 	kfree(buffer);
@@ -301,8 +307,7 @@  static struct page *alloc_largest_available(unsigned long size,
 			continue;
 		if (max_order < orders[i])
 			continue;
-
-		page = alloc_pages(order_flags[i], orders[i]);
+		page = page_pool_alloc_pages(pools[i], order_flags[i]);
 		if (!page)
 			continue;
 		return page;
@@ -407,6 +412,25 @@  static const struct dma_heap_ops system_heap_ops = {
 static int system_heap_create(void)
 {
 	struct dma_heap_export_info exp_info;
+	int i;
+
+	for (i = 0; i < NUM_ORDERS; i++) {
+		struct page_pool_params pp;
+
+		memset(&pp, 0, sizeof(pp));
+		pp.order = orders[i];
+		pp.dma_dir = DMA_BIDIRECTIONAL;
+		pools[i] = page_pool_create(&pp);
+
+		if (IS_ERR(pools[i])) {
+			int j;
+
+			pr_err("%s: page pool creation failed!\n", __func__);
+			for (j = 0; j < i; j++)
+				page_pool_destroy(pools[j]);
+			return PTR_ERR(pools[i]);
+		}
+	}
 
 	exp_info.name = "system";
 	exp_info.ops = &system_heap_ops;