diff mbox series

[01/17] dt-bindings: hwinfo: samsung,exynos-chipid: add specific compatibles for existing SoC

Message ID 20231108104343.24192-2-krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org
State New
Headers show
Series dt-bindings: samsung: add specific compatibles for existing SoC | expand

Commit Message

Krzysztof Kozlowski Nov. 8, 2023, 10:43 a.m. UTC
Samsung Exynos SoC reuses several devices from older designs, thus
historically we kept the old (block's) compatible only.  This works fine
and there is no bug here, however guidelines expressed in
Documentation/devicetree/bindings/writing-bindings.rst state that:
1. Compatibles should be specific.
2. We should add new compatibles in case of bugs or features.

Add compatibles specific to each SoC in front of all old-SoC-like
compatibles.

Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>

---

I propose to take the patch through Samsung SoC (me). See cover letter
for explanation.
---
 .../bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml  | 17 ++++++++++++++---
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

Comments

Rob Herring Nov. 8, 2023, 6:56 p.m. UTC | #1
On Wed, 08 Nov 2023 11:43:27 +0100, Krzysztof Kozlowski wrote:
> Samsung Exynos SoC reuses several devices from older designs, thus
> historically we kept the old (block's) compatible only.  This works fine
> and there is no bug here, however guidelines expressed in
> Documentation/devicetree/bindings/writing-bindings.rst state that:
> 1. Compatibles should be specific.
> 2. We should add new compatibles in case of bugs or features.
> 
> Add compatibles specific to each SoC in front of all old-SoC-like
> compatibles.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>
> 
> ---
> 
> I propose to take the patch through Samsung SoC (me). See cover letter
> for explanation.
> ---
>  .../bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml  | 17 ++++++++++++++---
>  1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
> 

Acked-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Alim Akhtar Nov. 9, 2023, 5:52 p.m. UTC | #2
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>
> Sent: Wednesday, November 8, 2023 4:13 PM
> To: David Airlie <airlied@gmail.com>; Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>;
> Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>; Maxime Ripard
> <mripard@kernel.org>; Thomas Zimmermann <tzimmermann@suse.de>;
> Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>; Krzysztof Kozlowski
> <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@linaro.org>; Conor Dooley
> <conor+dt@kernel.org>; Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@samsung.com>; Andi
> Shyti <andi.shyti@kernel.org>; Jonathan Cameron <jic23@kernel.org>; Lars-
> Peter Clausen <lars@metafoo.de>; Lee Jones <lee@kernel.org>; Ulf
> Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>; Tomasz Figa <tomasz.figa@gmail.com>;
> Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com>; Linus Walleij
> <linus.walleij@linaro.org>; Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>; Uwe
> Kleine-K├Ânig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>; Alessandro Zummo
> <a.zummo@towertech.it>; Alexandre Belloni
> <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>; Greg Kroah-Hartman
> <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@kernel.org>; Liam
> Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>; Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>;
> Jaehoon Chung <jh80.chung@samsung.com>; Sam Protsenko
> <semen.protsenko@linaro.org>; dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org;
> devicetree@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; linux-arm-
> kernel@lists.infradead.org; linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> i2c@vger.kernel.org; linux-iio@vger.kernel.org; linux-mmc@vger.kernel.org;
> linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org; linux-pwm@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> rtc@vger.kernel.org; linux-serial@vger.kernel.org; alsa-devel@alsa-
> project.org; linux-sound@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>
> Subject: [PATCH 01/17] dt-bindings: hwinfo: samsung,exynos-chipid: add
> specific compatibles for existing SoC
> 
> Samsung Exynos SoC reuses several devices from older designs, thus
> historically we kept the old (block's) compatible only.  This works fine and
> there is no bug here, however guidelines expressed in
> Documentation/devicetree/bindings/writing-bindings.rst state that:
> 1. Compatibles should be specific.
> 2. We should add new compatibles in case of bugs or features.
> 
> Add compatibles specific to each SoC in front of all old-SoC-like compatibles.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>
> 
Reviewed-by: Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@samsung.com>

> ---
> 
> I propose to take the patch through Samsung SoC (me). See cover letter for
> explanation.
> ---
>  .../bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml  | 17 ++++++++++++++---
>  1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-
> chipid.yaml
> b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml
> index 95cbdcb56efe..45f3d468db7c 100644
> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-
> chipid.yaml
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-
> chipid.yam
> +++ l
> @@ -11,9 +11,20 @@ maintainers:
> 
>  properties:
>    compatible:
> -    enum:
> -      - samsung,exynos4210-chipid
> -      - samsung,exynos850-chipid
> +    oneOf:
> +      - enum:
> +          - samsung,exynos4210-chipid
> +          - samsung,exynos850-chipid
> +      - items:
> +          - enum:
> +              - samsung,exynos5433-chipid
> +              - samsung,exynos7-chipid
> +          - const: samsung,exynos4210-chipid
> +      - items:
> +          - enum:
> +              - samsung,exynos7885-chipid
> +              - samsung,exynosautov9-chipid
> +          - const: samsung,exynos850-chipid
> 
>    reg:
>      maxItems: 1
> --
> 2.34.1
diff mbox series

Patch

diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml
index 95cbdcb56efe..45f3d468db7c 100644
--- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml
+++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/hwinfo/samsung,exynos-chipid.yaml
@@ -11,9 +11,20 @@  maintainers:
 
 properties:
   compatible:
-    enum:
-      - samsung,exynos4210-chipid
-      - samsung,exynos850-chipid
+    oneOf:
+      - enum:
+          - samsung,exynos4210-chipid
+          - samsung,exynos850-chipid
+      - items:
+          - enum:
+              - samsung,exynos5433-chipid
+              - samsung,exynos7-chipid
+          - const: samsung,exynos4210-chipid
+      - items:
+          - enum:
+              - samsung,exynos7885-chipid
+              - samsung,exynosautov9-chipid
+          - const: samsung,exynos850-chipid
 
   reg:
     maxItems: 1